The Dickens Inn

Rating
(31 reviews)
 
Location
Marble Quay, St Katharine's Way, Greater London
Business Hours
Business Hours not available
Phone
Click to show

Reviews

Reinaldo F.

4 Jan 2020

I love this place. The facade is really beautiful, the interior is spacious and there is some extra exterior area as well. Overall, a great venue! I'd recommend it to anyone.

Jack N.

3 Jan 2020

Nice location for this pub/restaurant in a 18th century building in a restored dock and shipping area. The food was good enough to bring us back a couple of days later for another meal and the service was prompt and attentive. Go there, you'll like it.

Simone B.

21 Dec 2019

Food was great, staff really nice and a beautiful pub set in an old fashioned stone building.

Rich V.

16 Dec 2019

Cosy, characteristic pub in St Katherine's dock area, in the least crowded part of the city. Ideal for a quiet Saturday evening.

Lee R.

15 Dec 2019

An exceptional pub down by St Katherine's. Exceptional service in all parts of the business, the Grill restaurant is perfect for a celebratory meal out, and they are an amazing wedding reception venue!

Charlotte J.

8 Dec 2019

Lovely, historic and cosy pub, despite the huge size of it! Lovely afternoon/evening on a winter’s day!

Damien D.

6 Dec 2019

The staff were extremely helpful and arranged things in no time at all. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, and the whole place was comfortable and cosy. Will be going back.

Matama F.

28 Nov 2019

I just love it. Great location lovely staff and really nice food. It's one of the best places around the Tower of London. Very picturesque :)

Dj G.

21 Nov 2019

Huge pub which has three floors! Great place to hold events. If your interested in boats there is always loads to look at and dream about! Great food, great staff, massive selection of drinks an honestly the best pub in London! A must go to!

Lee R.

11 Oct 2019

Such a lovely venue! Having had our wedding reception at The Dickens Inn, we can't imagine having done it anywhere else. We had a large wedding (93 people), about half of whom came from the United States and had never been to London before. With it's prime location at St. Katherine's Dock, our American guests got all the grandeur of a historic London waterfront venue! The price was very reasonable and the service exemplary. The space provided was well-sized, comfortable, and perfectly suited to what we needed. The venue also looked great, with it's exposed wooden beams, fairy lights, and wooden chairs (trust us, it is worth the minimal extra cost to have the white wooden chairs), we were able to have our warm and rustic autumn atmosphere despite the cold and rain outdoors The two members of the events team with whom we worked, Agata and Sam, were both marvellous. They were very responsive to our questions and needs, including a few transatlantic language mix-ups and a myriad of set-up questions! We were also very impressed with their chef, who was able to accommodate a last minute dietary request for one of the guests with only 48 hours notice! Every member of staff with whom we interacted was kind, courteous, and very professional. Do yourself a favour and don't give them a miss when you are looking at venues!

Em D.

13 Sep 2019

We had our wedding reception at the Dickens on 14 September this year and I cannot begin to thank the staff enough for making our day really special. From the initial enquiry right through to the day all the staff were amazing and did everything they could to make our day as special as it could be. Everything went perfectly, the set up was beautiful, food tasted amazing and the drinks were flowing! Thank you again to all of the staff at The Dickens (especially Sam!)

Heather C.

1 Sep 2019

What a lovely find. Gorgeous outside with all the flowers so pretty. Nice big seating area inside with a large choice of drinks.

Francis Z.

24 Aug 2019

We had a late summer wedding with around 100 guests, spread across three events over the day. The Dickens Inn is nicely tucked away from busy roads, the front square was perfect for our guests with children to roam around, whilst the adults enjoyed their refreshments during the function room change overs. We cannot thank Agata and her team in coordinating the day. They assisted us with all our requests and arranged the hall to exactly how we planned, including finishing touches such as table settings. The venue with its double storey height and exposed timber beams, added a character and glow to our wedding photos. Also, the food was delicious!

Liz M.

23 Aug 2019

We were lucky enough to be able to book this wonderful wedding venue on a Bank Holiday Saturday in August for our wedding, and we are so glad we did! We had often visited the pub for dinner in The Grill, or a delicious pizza, or just a drink, as it is such a beautiful location. We had family coming over from the States so we were looking for somewhere very centrally located, but somewhere with character and charm. The Dickens Inn ticked every box; the wedding venue is stunning, with its beautiful wooden beams and huge windows, and you are so close to Tower Bridge and the bustle of central London, but the cobbled streets around the quay could be a million miles away. Agata and her team were outstanding from the very first email exchange, nothing was too much trouble for them and we were in fairly regular contact for the year before our wedding, no question was too small and every detail was thought about. Any issues that arose closer to the wedding day were quickly and efficiently solved, and on the day we really felt that we could let go and enjoy ourselves, as Agata was there to make sure everything went to plan! We had the most memorable and perfect day, food was delicious and drinks plentiful, we were looked after so well and made to feel so special, and we can't thank Agata and The Dickens Inn enough for their personal, kind and efficient service. Would wholeheartedly recommend!

Akiko H.

20 Jul 2019

We held our wedding party here for 100 guests. It was the best decision ever we made for our best day. First of all, Agata who is the even coordinators was absolutely amazing from the moment we contacted the venue until the wedding day (or even now!) she answered every single question we asked and made sure that we are happy with everything. As we weren’t sure with lots of things as it was our fist time organising wedding, she gave lots of support. And all the decoration I asked was done like a magic on the day! Options for food had lots of variety and we could make the way we like with our budget. And we never forget naughty pizza time at 10pm...! Even organising delivery from other companies (wedding cake shop, DJ etc), the communication was smooth and there is not even one stressful moment. You can really customise the way you like and with your budget. All the staff at the restaurant was very kind and helpful and all our guests had wonderful time! And also the location is fantastic, few mins walk to tower bridge which is going to be the best photo shooting location on your big day. If we do wedding again, we will definitely cheese here again for sure!

Hobson C.

5 Jul 2019

We had our wedding at the Dickens Inn back in Summer 2019. Everything about the experience from initial meeting to our wedding day was dealt with professionally, promptly and without any extra stress for us. Agata and her team were on hand to make sure everything ran smoothly - liaising with our photographers, DJ and providing exacting food for our guests. All our 100 guests commented on how amazing the venue was. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you so much!

Katie H.

17 Feb 2019

We celebrated our wedding at The Dickens Inn in February 2019. We knew from our first visit to the venue and meeting Samanta that this was the venue for us. Samanta was friendly, professional and always replied promptly to emails. She went above and beyond to ensure our day was perfect. The meal we enjoyed at the reception was beautiful and all our guests commented on how great the food was. Having sole use of the Copperfield Bar was ideal for our drinks and canapes reception before the main meal was great. The staff were extremely accommodating when dealing with individual dietary requirements and when working with our external suppliers. The function room looked absolutely stunning and exactly as we had imagined it. All the staff were wonderful and the day flowed smoothly. Thank you for helping us to create the exact wedding we wanted, we will never forget what a wonderful day we had.

Andy I.

10 Nov 2018

We had our wedding reception at The Dickens Inn in November 2018 and we could not have hoped for anything better – it was perfect! All of our planning was through Samanta who was incredibly helpful throughout and worked with us to create the day we wanted. Our guests arrived to The Dickens from Islington Town Hall via a Routemaster bus to which was no issue at all in terms of access and the canapés and reception drinks were ready and waiting in the Copperfield Bar below the function room, which we’d hired out for three hours just for us. We had a singer perform during the reception drinks and she had no problems getting in and setting up beforehand. My (now) wife is a vegan and during our food tasting the chef was amazingly helpful in preparing options that would meet our needs. We’ve had really positive reviews from our guests about the food, so very pleased with the options we chose. Our wedding was truly the day of our lives and having the reception at The Dickens Inn was a massive part of that. We couldn’t fault anything and would highly recommend the venue to anyone currently looking for somewhere to celebrate. It’s a gorgeous slice of history right in the middle of central London – perfect!

Chris G.

25 Aug 2018

We have had our wedding ceremony organised at Dickens Inn by Agata. Venue was great and we have had a great time. Even tough it was Agata's day off she did come in and made sure everything was working fine for us. I would strongly recommend this venue.

Shanlaw S.

14 Aug 2018

Well where do I start, the moment me and my future husband viewed The Dickens inn we fell in love with the venue straight away. We loved the rustic feel low beams you honestly didn't need to add much decoration as its natural beauty made it look amazing. Then you looked out the windows to see the beautiful Views of st Katherine's dock. We were sold! From the day we made the booking right up to our special day we were looked after. They really couldn't do enough, nothing was too much trouble. We would not of change a single thing about our day, the day ran so smoothly. The timings were perfect, we didn't have to prompt anything they were always one step ahead of us. We were always worried would there be enough food what if there are any hick up's, honestly speaking we had absolutely nothing to worry about The Team made sure our day was Perfect, it was even better then we could of ever imagined. We could go on forever speaking about our day, choose The Dickens Inn you will not be disappointed.


We were delighted with our wedding reception at the Dickens Inn. Its a great space in an amazing central London location and reasonably priced. Agata and her team went above and beyond to help us in planning and delivering the event. We're very grateful and would definitely recommend others to hold events at the Dickens Inn. Our guests really enjoyed it.

Simon M.

28 Jul 2018

We had a fantastic wedding at the Dickens Inn on 29 July 2018 and we are delighted to recommend this venue – unique, individual and truly memorable ! The old-world charm of The Dickens Inn provided a perfect setting with the boats of St Katherine’s docks and Tower Bridge providing a beautiful backdrop. The events manager Sam and the team at The Dickens Inn were a delight to work with as we planned the event. Their experience and wonderful approach helped us at every step, with great attention to all the small details. The organisation on the day itself was highly professional and everything proceeded exactly as planned. The venue was beautifully decorated for both the ceremony and the banquet and the quality of the food and drinks and the service provided was fabulous. It was truly an unforgettable occasion and we cannot thank the team at the Dickens Inn for all their hard work to make our day so special! We could not have asked for a better day!

Claire N.

20 Jul 2018

The Dickens Inn was the perfect place to get married they executed the most amazing wedding day we could have wished for. We would love to go back and do it all over again - it truly was the best day ever. The team were fantastic and every detail was better than we imagined. The Dickens Inn will always mean a lot to us as it was where we first met and the perfect place to say 'I Do'. Thank you so much for everything you did in the run up and on the day itself, we will be forever grateful for creating such a wonderful experience.

Antonia A.

14 Jul 2018

I had my wedding at the Dickens Inn and it was exactly what I wanted! We opted for late afternoon ceremony with a bbq style buffet in the evening! Ceremony was amazing and the party was a great night. The food went down a treat for everyone especially the burgers and the sausages!! No complaints at all. Brilliant venue and all my friends and family commented what a magical day it was.

Josie J.

3 Jun 2018

We had a fantastic day at the Dickens’ for our wedding breakfast and evening reception, having got married in Bermondsey earlier in the afternoon (our guests loved walking over Tower Bridge to get to the Dickens’ Inn!). The setting is beautiful and the room looked wonderful. We were really pleased with how the whole day went. There were no hiccups and actually the whole process right from first contact was fairly seamless thanks to Agata and the team. The food was delicious and great value, as you would expect from a brilliant restaurant. Everybody loved the whole day and we would highly recommend the Dickens’

Cristal D.

19 May 2018

We had our wedding reception at the Dickens inn in May. We had the best night ever! We couldn't have picked a more perfect venue, all the staff on the night were so accommodating and joined in with our celebrations. Everyone commented on how nice the three course meal was & how tasty the 'beast Pizzas' were in the evening. On the build up to the wedding Agata & Sam (our event co-coordinators) helped us organise everything and thought of things we hadn't, offering us useful advise and helpful suggestions. They helped us set up exactly how we wanted too. The DJ (who we booked through the dickens inn) was fab too. Thank you everyone who was involved!

Marigold R.

27 Jan 2018

Our wedding at the Dickens Inn was everything I wanted and more. As we were both born and raised in London it made perfect sense to get married here. We chose the Dickens Inn as St Katherine’s Dock is one of our favourite London spots. The docks and pub looked amazing in the evening covered in fairy lights and we managed to get some stunning wedding photos by London Bridge. All our guests commented on how beautiful the venue looked. All the staff were so helpful in the lead up to our big day and the actual day itself. Everything ran smoothly and stress free! We really wanted a relaxed, fun wedding in an spectacular London location and that’s exactly what we got with the Dickens Inn. I just wish we could do it all over again!

Jay J.

6 Jan 2018

It is one of the most amazing venues. Tasty food (especially their massive pizzas), very helpful and lovely staff and such a beautiful location overall. Definitely recommend.

James S.

7 Oct 2017

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Dickens Inn on October 7th 2017. What an incredible day! The Dickens Inn staff were ever helpful and offered professional service at every step of the way. Also, we were so impressed with how they used the space of the room and included so many simple and tasteful touches to the decor to complement the buildings aesthetic. We thoroughly recommend the Dickens Inn as the venue to host your wedding day, the place and staff made it such a wonderful occasion that was problem and worry-free. We will always remember it as such a wonderful experience and thank everyone who helped make it special. Many of our guests knew the Dickens Inn and were surprised at its ability to host a Wedding reception, we received much praise for the beautiful reception and its set up. An additional element that made our day special was its location. Not only was it easy for our guests to get to and from by way of the tube or bus. But the sites around the Dickens Inn were the perfect backdrop for many of our wedding photos. With the likes of St Katherine's Dock, the River Thames and Tower Bridge in the background the evening photos looked all the more magical.

Sophie S.

28 Oct 2016

We had a fantastic wedding at the Dickens Inn on 29 July 2018 and we are delighted to recommend this venue – unique, individual and truly memorable ! The old-world charm of The Dickens Inn provided a perfect setting with the boats of St Katherine’s docks and Tower Bridge providing a beautiful backdrop. The events manager Sam and the team at The Dickens Inn were a delight to work with as we planned the event. Their experience and wonderful approach helped us at every step, with great attention to all the small details. We particularly appreciated their willingness to tailor the menu to our particular wishes and the ability to reserve exclusive use of both the indoor space and the outside terrace was fantastic. The organization on the day itself was highly professional and everything proceeded exactly as planned. The venue was beautifully decorated for both the ceremony and the banquet and the quality of the food and drinks and the service provided was fabulous. The team really delivered on all their promises and everything came together beautifully. It was truly an unforgettable occasion and we cannot thank the team at the Dickens Inn for all their hard work to make our day so special! We could not have asked for a better day! After the wedding ceremony (the venue is licensed for civil ceremonies) and the banquet at the Dickens Inn, it was then only a short walk to board a boat for the party to continue on the River Thames! Choosing the people to entrust your wedding is obviously an important decision but based on our experience we have no hesitation at all in recommending the Dickens Inn. We had a fantastic day and we hope you do too!

Laura L.

9 Apr 2016

We held our wedding at the Dickens at the start of April, and the staff really did make our day perfect. The staff were exceptionally helpful throughout, the food was delicious, and the room looked beautiful. We can not thank and recommend enough :)


Why enquire through Easy Weddings?

Exclusive deals

Get the best deals for your wedding with Easy Weddings only discounts and special offers.

Trusted suppliers

Easy Weddings' suppliers have received 5,000+ independent reviews from brides and grooms.

Quick response

Your time is important. Get the information you need quickly. No fuss. No stress.